Blogging from my RT.

Technically, it’s not my RT. I wish it was though. I’ve been falling in love with the RT for the last few days, despite the misgivings Roo has with Win 8 and her Office.

I found the WordPress.com app in the app store today and I am currently trying it out, typing it out with the type cover. The words appear slower than my typing speed. I like the autocorrect that comes with the tablet though – this means that even if I may mistype due to insufficient pressure on the keys of the touch cover, it auto corrects my words, which makes it similar with typing on my phone.

I seldom blog from my phone though. Swyping a blogpost doesn’t feel like blogging, typing it out makes it feel more real, oddly.

I really really adore the sleekness of the Surface RT – it is extremely well built and it feel solidly good in the hands. It’s the kind of device that just feels right, for no reason. Doesn’t help the fact that I have a guilty love for the metro design – I like the typography, the layout of the tiles and the colours used in metro – it just feels right to me. It might also be due to the fact that I’ve been on the look out for a new tablet and I’ve been waiting for Nexus 10 for EONS. It feels like it’s never going to come.

Now we have another contender, the RT.

Now, if I really just want a tablet with the occasional work purpose, the RT is actually just fine. I’m not sure if I need the Pro for that, despite my love for powerful gadgets. Sometimes I feel like I need to ask myself if I truly require such powerful machines. More power is always better than less, but the prices always go up with more power. Besides, the RT has a USB port that I find truly useful. I can just plug any old thumbdrive in and work from there! Of course, I wish Dropbox came up with an official app for Windows 8, even though I know I can use the browser version.

I do miss my apps in Android, but surprisingly not as much as I thought I would.

I’m supposed to lend my RT to the boy for him to try for a few days so that he can provide some feedback from the researcher’s point of view. However, I don’t know how I can bear to part with it, as I’m supposed to return it on 8 November. I know I’m going to miss the RT already. The new versions are coming out soon, but I don’t know when exactly. I know I’ll be on the lookout – and funnily I think I might hold back on the immediate Nexus 10 purchase. Will probably compare it to the Surface 2/Pro 2.

I really really adore the RT. It does have its flaws, but you just can’t explain love, I guess.

It’s been a while since I’ve fallen head over heels for a gadget – the last time this happened, I think it was my Nexus One. That was a long long long time ago.

19 thoughts on “Blogging from my RT.

  1. hui ru says:

    oh i didn’t know wp had an app! anw you can always play with mine. i started bringing it out a lot more after installing 8.1, also after finally starting to play games on it. haven’t really done work on it yet, partly because i don’t have office, damn it. the trial expired and i haven’t gotten around to buying it yet. but 365 actually looks pretty darn good, and i can already use up 3 out of 5 of the users by myself (iphone, desktop, tablet). i just find paying every year a little bit iffy.

  2. hui ru says:

    i am still a little bit tempted to also get an ipad, if only because there are so many more educational apps in the apple store. to use socrative or nearpod on my tablet i have to use the browser version.

  3. na says:

    Yea I didn’t know until I was randomly searching in the app store just now! Having PTM now, but I’m just on standby in the staffroom you see. I like 8.1! I want my own Surfaceeee whines.

    365 is gooood – I’ve been sharing with BX so far, think we’ve used 4 out of 5 users, 2 for each of us. It’s not that expensive when you consider the fact that you’re using it across your devices.

    I know, iPad has all those educational apps which makes it very tempting, but I also recognise the fact that I probably will never get onto the apple ecosystem. I actually haven’t tried playing games on my RT – I should I guess. It has an excellent screen hehe.

    • hui ru says:

      i haven’t figured out how to lock the orientation of the screen yet – this annoys me. also i’m playing ‘rule the kingdom’ ‘zombies vs samurai’. and downloaded soulcraft and royal revolt among others. haven’t tried the latter two yet though! i will eventually get around to buying 365 i’m just trying to paying it until i really have to. hopefully i can delay until january so i can buy 365 and mathtype and use LDS.

  4. hui ru says:

    also, spamming you here but the WP app for windows 8 only allows syncing with ONE blog. :( but i have so many! also am reminded that you never finished the story that you started on this blog. I WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS LAH.

  5. hui ru says:

    next thursday dinner? or the next next thursday (i have the entire afternoon there). or else the next one is 26 nov le. also have the afternoon there.

Leave a comment